Wild Camping – a few useful items

Click to open larger image

Not an exhaustive list, but some useful items nonetheless.

  1. Stretch-fit active shorts with at least a couple of zip pockets. Unless it’s down below 5 degrees Celsius I prefer shorts for walking in on open ground/paths, rather than trousers… unless I know I’ll be walking through rough ground with brambles, nettles, or grasses, or with biting insects.
  2. Man-made fibre boxers – quick drying, prevent chafing, no swamp ass!
  3. Warm dry socks for sleeping.
  4. Ti mug with lid, 600 ml ish. for #ultralight swap lid for tin foil.
  5. Camping gas. I use the smaller dumpy ones and refill from one of these, adapters for this are available loads of places online.
  6. Adapter for gas can (#5) to allow fitting to other screw type stoves.
  7. BRS-3000T titanium stove. Cheap and widely used by ultralight campers. Fits inside mug.
  8. Home made wind break for stove, made from two beer cans. Fits inside mug. Loads of guides online for making these.
  9. Flattened foil tray to prevent burning ground when using another of my stoves that sits low to the ground.
  10. Playing around with home made spirit burning stove made from cat food can. See Andrew Skurka for design. I love the simplicity, cost, and weight.
  11. Magnesium firelighter. Works great for lighting stoves from a distance.
  12. Lighter. Backup for the magnesium firelighter.
  13. 3×3 m Tarp. Very good, but a lot bulkier than I expected when packed up. Would like to upgrade to something smaller. DD do a lighter smaller version.
  14. Y shaped aluminum stakes for the tarp. I find this style the strongest and hold well.
  15. Various lightweight dry bags. I like them for storing down jacket and synthetic jacket. I take both on overnights. For ultralight they recommend leaving all stuff sacks at home.
  16. Selection of various lengths of paracord, for tarp ridge line, guy lines etc. I take more than this. I learned several knots, so have something for most situations. Also Shoelaces (#19).
  17. Standard foam roll mat to go under Klymit Static V (#28) for protection from puncture. Could do with something thinner to replace this foam mat.
  18. Several straps for tying on items to rucksack. These have since been replaced by old shoe laces, they take up less room and with a few knots become infinitely more useful than straps. #ultralight
  19. Decent condition old shoelaces for tying various things to rucksack, or for guy lines, or repairs… etc. etc.
  20. Spare batteries for head torch in a zip lock bag.
  21. Head torch. Wish it had a red mode for night time. Haven’t used it the past several times as it was a clear night with full moon… too bright… had to cover my eyes to sleep!
  22. Various knives, depending on what I’m doing or how long I’m going. Most of the time the Morakniv (#23) is what I take as it’s a great blade for messing about making tent pegs out of sticks etc.
  23. Morakniv knife. It’s the heavy duty one with the extra thick blade for battening etc. I find the handle slightly too thick for me, but it’s very grippy.
  24. Shemagh. Great for a pillow, keeping sun off my head, wrapping up as scarf, wrapping over head at night if it gets chilly, wetting to keep cool in the summer and any number of other uses. They’re great.
  25. Buff. Tube of synthetic material for keeping neck warm, or ears warm, or daylight/moonlight out of eyes when sleeping, or use as a sweatband on head or doubled over on wrist. Another multi-use great piece of kit.
  26. White bandana. Similar to the buff, only this one is just a big square. I like it under a hat in the summer as neck protection, and wetted cools well. Many other uses.
  27. 2 L bottle for water. Cheap, pretty much flattens when empty, last ages and then throw away and use a new one. I also decant into a sports bottle for ease of access in a side pocket of rucksack.
  28. Klymit Static V Recon. A new addition, and makes sleeping on back, front, or side so much more comfortable. I’m a bit scared of punctures, hence the additional foam sleeping mat.
  29. Small roll of Gorilla Tape in zip lock bag for general repairs. It’s good stuff.
  30. Baseball cap, works best and looks coolest in combo with sunglasses!
  31. Boonie hat, if gets too hot keeps sun off ears, side of face, and a bit of neck. Also soaks up sweat. I like mine a lot.
  32. Keys on a thin length of paracord rather than a keyring. Can loop it onto things this way with a cow hitch, and they jangle less than a keyring.
  33. Ear plugs. I must remember to wear them… nature is so bloody noisy at night, most disrespectful!
  34. Sewing repair kit, has a bit of everything in there. Not used yet but could be useful in conjunction with the Gorilla Tape some day.
  35. Small foam Z folding sit pad. I used it up the back of my jacket today with a cold wind following. Instantly felt toasty.
  36. 20000 mAh battery pack with USB C and A out. For charging electronics… mostly my phone. Drains quite a bit if using SatNav like OSMAnd and having the screen on a lot.

Not Listed above:

  • Army surplus Goretex-like breathable membrane camo bivvy bag, soon to be modified to have the drawstring on the side not in my face in the centre.
  • Plastic bag to keep shoes dry overnight
  • Cheap 2 season synthetic sleeping bag… soon to be replaced with a 3 season down bag. Depending on how compact that makes things, I might need a 50 L bag. The 40 L I have is very tight on space… couldn’t have fitted a stove, mug, or food, or down jacket. Thinking about it… definitely will need one. I’ll get something with a mesh back to stand the pack off my back for airflow. I hate a sweaty itchy back. Not exactly ultralight?
  • Beanie and down jacket. A standard issue for weather year round where I’m from.
  • Thin half zip midlayer.
  • Merrell walking shoes.
  • Trail running shoes for summer.
  • Garmin Fenix and OSMand for maps.
  • Polartec 200 fleece lined tights, for cold days and for sleeping in. They’re great, had them 25 years or more, been sewn up several times.
  • Thermos of coffee/tea and ‘overnight oats’ for breakfast.
  • Might get a blow up pillow, been having issues getting comfy, actually with keeping my head held in position without flopping. A pillow might help.
Old shoelaces or thin paracord for tying things to a backpack. Superior to purpose made straps in my opinion, and
also multi-use if you know a few knots. Significantly lighter than straps! Slipped Round Turn and Two Half Hitches in this case. #ultralight
Army surplus Bivvy bag rolled up and stored on outside also in image. Definitely not #ultralight, but reassuringly rugged.
Morning view. Camp in the woods or under a tree and experience a lot less dew
Off the ground this time! Note the use of straps to protect the tree from the weight on the hammock.

Leave a comment